Tags

, , , ,

20120131-173014.jpg
Think of something, anything. Chances are, there’s an app for it. Many companies are smart for jumping on the ship to appify their services; otherwise they might fall in the water and drown.

But what exactly is appify? According to definition-of.net, appify is a noun meaning “to create or modify an existing service as to make an application of it which in turn can be used in a larger application.” Fancy.

Apps make your life easier. They improve efficiency, multi-tasking ability, speed and ease of doing something. They give you instant access to services you “need” the most. That is, assuming you have data or wifi. Notice I said “need”. Do we really “need” to do all of these things that we consume our time with? Probably not. But hey, since the ability to do anything and everything instantly is available, then why not do them?

The WordPress app for example, makes blogging effortless. I have two blogs on WordPress – Mud Pie is my personal blog and Social Media Uncovered is a blog specifically created for my social media course, which I will likely end up keeping after.

Imagine if I have to boot up my laptop, go on the internet and login to WordPress every time I have to add a new post or modify an existing one. Not to mention toggling back and forth between the two blog dashboards. That would make blogging a chore. But thanks to the WordPress app, blogging is anything but.

There are even apps to make online shopping easy as pie. Of course this also means spending more money, sometimes unnecessarily.

20120131-203055.jpg

I was chatting about iPad apps with a colleague the other day when he told me a story of how his son started getting into Archie comics. His son then decided to check the AppStore for an Archie comic app. And lo and behold, there was one! Of course I already knew this since I also have that app on my iPhone and iPad, along with a Marvel comics app, Kobo and Kindle apps.

20120131-203113.jpg
My point to all this? The next time you come across a service, product or company that you like, ask yourself, “would you like an app with that?”

